Virginia has very strict DUI laws and penalties. The below information outlines loss of license, jail time and cost / fines and any other possible penalties for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
If convicted of any DUI offense in Virginia where a child under the age of 17 was in the vehicle, the offense carries an additional mandatory 5 day jail term in addition to other fines and jail sentences. If convicted a second time of a DUI where a child under the age of 17 was in the vehicle, an 80 hour community service requirement will be carried along with other fines and jail sentences.*Persons under the age of 21 will face additional charges. *Driving on a suspended license will also carry more penalties, additional jail time and fines. *All information listed above is for informational purposes only. You should ALWAYS consult with an attorney first! *More detailed information regarding Virginia DUI laws and penalties can be found at dmv.virginia.gov. The source for the above information is from dmv.virginia.gov.