The first Offense DUI in Tennessee penalties will carry jail time (48 hours to 11 months, 29 days for offenders in violation of 55-10-401). There’s also a minimum of 7 consecutive days if BAC is .20 or greater. License revocation for 1 year, with restricted license available. Total fines / costs for a 1st Offense DUI in Tennessee average around 4,900. You will also most likely be ordered to participate in a drug and alcohol treatment program. You could face having to pay restitution for any person suffering an injury or loss. An ignition interlock is installed at your expense and could exceed $1,000.
A 1st Offense DUI in Tennessee would be considered a misdemeanor, while a DUI in Tennessee can become a Felony in the event of serious injury to another person (vehicular assault), vehicular homicide and child endangerment.
Additional penalties and fines are possible. Always consult with an attorney first! Find an attorney specializing in DUI/DWI Defense here.For more detailed information please see tn.gov.