Driving while intoxicated is a very serious offense and is taken very seriously in North Carolina. Some of the penalties will include; loss of license, fines, court costs and lawyer fees, jail time, community service and higher car insurance rates.
If you refuse the chemical test, your license will be revoked for 30 days while given the option of a hearing. If you are found guilty, your license is suspended for 1 year.
North Carolina DWI Penalties are based on levels for persons 21 years of age and older and your judge will use different factors to determine the level to base your penalties on. The factors to determine your level are BAC, prescription medication, your driving record and overall driving history.
An Ignition Interlock Device is required in North Carolina for any driver convicted of a DWI if BAC is 0.15% or higher and/or a subsequent offense within 7 years.
In addition to the above penalties, Commercial Driver DWI offenders in North Carolina can face tougher penalties.
*Additional / Other Penalties than what is listed above is possible. Every case is different and is influenced by many factors. The above is for information purposes only and was obtained by dmv.org*Additional penalties are likely, including attending an alcohol and drug treatment program.