Drinking and driving is a serious crime in Mississippi. Not only can you lose your license, get fined heavily, and spend time in jail, but you could seriously hurt or even kill another individual. If you find yourself out having a good night and are unsure if you should drive, the best course of action is to find another ride home. Why take a chance on ruining your and someone else’s life!
Ever person is different on how much alcohol it takes to reach the legal BAC in Mississippi. There is not a clear-cut answer, but you can use a general BAC calculator to get a rough idea of how much alcohol you could consume before reaching the BAC in Mississippi.
For each offense of a DUI the punishment gets worse. If you have a violation you can see below what possible punishments, you may receive.
There is a lookback period to determine if it is a 1st, 2nd, or 3rd DUI Offense of 5 years. That means if you had a DUI 6 years ago and just received another one, it most likely will be considered a 1st offense.
There is various BAC (blood alcohol levels) for Mississippi based on age and profession
Mississippi has an implied consent, which gives you the right as a citizen to refuse to submit to a chemical test for suspected DUI. But if you refuse to submit to the chemical test you be automatically subjected to a fine and license suspension. Depending on your offense level the punishment will vary.
1st Offense – 90 day license suspension
*Additional / Other Penalties than what is listed above is possible. Every case is different and is influenced by many factors. The above is for information purposes only and was obtained by dmv.org*Additional penalties are likely, including attending an alcohol and drug treatment program.