Alabama has some strict laws concerning DUI, but they are also fair in their judgements. Don’t put yourself in a situation where you are driving impaired. Be aware of your general alcohol limits before reaching the legal blood alcohol limits. If you have been charged with DUI below are the penalties for convictions. Convictions are based on your last 5 years of history.
Alabama enforces the use of ignition interlock devices (IIDs), for first time offenders if BAC is .15 percent or higher, they are involved in an accident that caused an injury, a child under 14 is in the vehicle or a refusal for a breathalyzer test.
All repeat DUI offenders are required to install IID. All costs for installation and monthly fees of the IID device is the responsibility of the offender. The IIDs must be obtained from a state certified provider. A list of these providers are available at the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency website.
*Additional / Other Penalties than what is listed above is possible. Every case is different and is influenced by many factors. The above is for information purposes only and was obtained by several sources*Additional penalties are likely, including attending an alcohol and drug treatment program.